When he got back from JRTC we found out I was pregnant and we will be expecting our first child in November. Unfortunately Mitchell deployed the same day of my first ultrasound so he was unable to share that moment with me. I was able to convince the ultrasound tech to print me a picture, and I took a photo of it on my phone. I sent that photo in a picture text to my husband, so it was almost like he was there. I was so distracted that he was leaving literally at the same time I was getting the ultrasound that I think I wasn't really focusing. I know that when most people see their baby's heart beat for the first time cry, and get all emotional. I didn't. I just sat there staring at the screen, marveling at how such a tiny thing could have such a tiny heart, and still be inside of me. I'm not showing at all. I haven't gained any weight, in fact the only real sign of pregnancy is my inability to eat solid food in the mornings and my sore chest. The little sea monkey's heart was beating at 112bpm. I tried asking the ultrasound tech all sorts of questions, which side of the uterus was it implanted on, is it near the cervix (will I have to worry about placenta previa as it grows), what was the normal heart rate for this gestational age. She didn't understand what "implantation" meant and didn't know the normal range. She said she only knew that it the heart rate was near 80 she needed to report it. Well 112 is close enough to 80 for me! I know nurses make horrible patients, but its only because we want to be well informed! I went home and did some research, 112 is perfect for its range! My due date was a little off from what I calculated at November 7th, the ultrasound measurements suggest the little thing will enter this earth around November 10th. Pish posh, babies come when babies want to come. Either way I'm game so long as my husband is by my side, if he is still out and about I plan on fixing my nether regions with duct tape till he is home. That thing can just be well done when it comes out. :P
I woke up early Saturday morning, bummed around the house a bit. I made myself a smoothie for breakfast as that is the only thing I can tolerate in the mornings, played a few facebook games, read for awhile. I even got off my duff and took a shower! After all that I was pretty pooped, so I decided to take a nap. I didn't need to be anywhere until 1500, my friend from work was having a Bridal Shower. So I layed down around 1030. I didn't wake up until 1600. Yeah, totally missed Celina's Bridal Shower. I had also meant to go shopping for food for me and things for Mitchell's first care package! Oops! After I woke up from my nap I went to the store and gathered those things. I also stopped by the local craft store and picked up myself some yarn, a DIY crochet book and a few crochet hooks. I figured while the hubs is gone I could use a time consuming hobby, since I'm having a baby I can crochet some booties or a blanket or something. Its a win win. I taught myself to crochet at midnight on Saturday. I had nothing better to do.
Sunday morning I spent crocheting with the puppy on my lap. He was getting jealous of the blanket and started gnawing at it until I let him lay on my lap. I think he misses Mitchell. In the afternoon I met up with a few coworkers to see Hunger Games. I had already seen the movie with Mitchell the night before he deployed, but thought I should go again, it would be a good excuse to get out of the house. It was nice to see some people and be able to social this weekend. My house is feeling super empty and super alone and there are only so many things I can say to my dog. He just looks at me like I'm crazy, occasionally he'll whine back at me. He's probably telling me to shut up, that he can't understand me. Or maybe he just wants a bone.
Today after work I got home and made some mac and cheese, it sounded really good while I was at work. I ate the ENTIRE box. By myself. I crocheted a few rows on the baby blanket and then decided I should write some letters to the fam. I wrote to Mitchells mother and grandmother, both of my grannies, my aunt and my dad. I'm also including a copy of the ultrasound picture for them to have. I finished folding some of the laundry I started yesterday. I think that is enough chores for one day. I get tired very easily lately. Mitchell and I painted the nursery before he left, I have a few spots I need to touch up, I hoping to do those tomorow.
I've resorted to carrying my phone with me whereever I go. I never know when I'll hear from my husband, or what the number will look like when he calls. I even carry it with me when I'm in the bathroom! You never know! Yesterday I was sitting on the couch, crafting, when the phone rang. It was a number I didn't recognize, I got all excited thinking maybe it was him. I wasn't expecting to hear from him for awhile. I answered the phone. It was an automated call for the College Network. Not my husband. Biggest let down I've had in awhile. Oh well, it will come when it comes.
I've layed out all the items to go in Mitchell's first care package and realistically it will probably take 2 or 3 boxes to fit all the stuff it, I got a bit carried away. I've ordered a few APO flat rate boxes online, they send them to your house for free, but it takes a week. I don't want to wait that long, because I'm sure it takes forever for packages to get over there, and this package is Easter themed. I'd like it to get here as close to Easter as possible.
I feel so scatter brained, I hope I didn't leave anything out, and I hope this made some sort of sense. I'll probably start updating every day again, that way I won't feel so stretched out. Silly tired pregnancy brains don't work very well.
Little Pieratt. FHT 112bpm. 7wks.
Poor little Courage was jealous of the Crocheting. I had to let him lay on my lap so he would stop looking so pathetically neglected.
After 4 hours of Crocheting. Not bad for a beginner!
Care package assembly line!
My friend Malori sent this picture to me. I thought it was funny.
Writing letters to all of the family members. This one was to Mitchell's grandmother. I have never actually met or spoken with this woman, but from what I've heard she is pretty inspirational.