I've been so grateful to get to send text updates to Mitchell while he is at JRTC. In fact, I just got a quick little phone call! Definitely the highlight of my weekend! I just hope I don't start to rely on that communication too heavily. I don't want to adjust to something that won't be there when he is actually deployed. It helps comfort me now, I just want it to be beneficial in the long run as well. I'm sure I'll get the occasional phone call while he is gone, I just don't want to come to expect it and become heartbroken when I realize its not always a possibility.
~~~~~
I slept a little better last night, almost 5 hours! When I woke up I didn't feel as lazy, I did remain in bed to finish up an episode of Game of Thrones. I played with puppy for a bit, I even cooked some sausage for breakfast! Then I decided it was high time to finish cleaning the kitchen. I completed the dishes, wiped down the counters, and finished my laundry. When that was done, I meandered into the computer room and played SWTOR for a little while. Little did I know the Mandalorian troopers I was attempting to defeat were not only elite, but super elite and poor old level 10 Lirael could not handle them by herself. After dying several times I got frustrated and decided I needed a break. I logged onto my various bank accounts to ensure my bills on autopay came out, paid my student loans, and cruised around on facebook.
When 12:00 hit I figured I should get ready for the gym, if I arrive there close to the opening time there tends to be less people to compete with for equipment usage. I hate having to wait to use the stair stepper, especially if creepy-red-shorts-dude is there, he is always on it for AT LEAST an hour. Shower, dress, potty and feed the puppy, drive. I arrive at 12:55 with a full bladder. When I beep in with my key chain I notice a larger than usual amount of people in the lobby...turns out the gym went 24/7 and they only unlock the locker rooms, as well as the sauna/pool area, during the old gym hours. This also means NO RESTROOM until normal gym hours. I was forced to do the potty dance for "5 minutes" which ended up being 10, because the front desk lady was too busy flirting with an old, wrinkly ex-marine.
I've always hated wearing shorts, especially if I'm going to work out, I have this thing where I'm CONVINCED I have the fattest, nastiest thighs known to mankind. I've gotten used to the idea of wearing the longer woman's gym shorts, only because it gets too hot in pants. I've also always hated ANYTHING spandex. Most people look ridiculous in them, and there are always those overweight people who think they are hot sh!t squeezing into them, ruining it for everyone else. I imagine myself looking like those people if I was ever to try them on. When I bought my shoes yesterday I also picked up a few more sets of gym clothes. I managed to find a pair of normal length shorts that I felt comfortable wearing. I even practiced a few sets of squats in the dressing room to ensure they covered everything the way I like. Yes, I'm that neurotic. After realizing I didn't look that bad in normal shorts, I figured it was safe to try on a pair of compression capris. I wasn't too hopeful, normally capris end up being the length I need my pants at, because I am far shorter than the majority of clothes shoppers. Not ONLY did they fit at normal capri length, but they felt amazingly comfortable and made my legs look beastly! Not to mention it was all 50% off. WIN!
Even though these last two days at the gym have been close to torture after taking the last two weeks off, I've been able to sufficiently push myself. Today I did an extra 5 minutes on the stair stepper, extra 5 minutes on my fat-burn cycling, as well as whole-body circuit training. Normally after my cardio I'll just choose a muscle group to focus on only work on that. After that I'm usually smoked. Today I was able to work on EVERYTHING and did just fine!
I am hopeful as well as determined, to increase my cardiovascular endurance while Mitchell is away. I spoke with Amanda (the good coworker from Sandhills) about it, and she is totally game to run a 5k with me. I'm thinking Run For Your Lives! SO EXCITED. But first, I need to get working on my slow, fat ass's ability to run. I think this may involve stepping back onto a treadmill. Something I haven't done for cardio since I moved to Fayetteville. As a well endowed woman, I have always disliked running, especially in public. This was slightly remedied when I discovered the amazing high compression sports bra invention. Until I realized that creepers still creep no matter what type of sports bra you are wearing. Spa Fitness (my gym) has all of their treadmills set up so that when someone walks into the building they can easily see and watch you run. Ick. It has recently come to my attention that there may be a secret "woman's only" fitness room on the premises, somewhere near the pool. It is rumored that there are treadmills as well as free weights in this glorious room. Whereas I have NO problem lifting weights in the guys area, this room would provide sanctuary for my running insecurities. I plan on adventuring forth until I find this room tomorrow. My idealistic goal: Fartlek. My realistic goal: 5 min fast walk warm up, 10 min fast run, 5 min cool down. Then 15 min on the stepper. Everyone has to start somewhere!
When I got home from the gym I finally changed my car's license plates to my new North Carolina plates. They've only been in my car, waiting to be attached, for the last month. I made myself a nice little salad for lunch, gobbled that up and resumed SWTOR. This time Brian joined me and after fumbling around with vent settings we were able to pound out quite a few quests!
For the remainder of my evening I hope to study some more pediatrics to freshen up my brain for my job shadow tomorrow. I'll probably be nerdy and lay out my scrubs and pack a lunch to prepare myself for my "big day." Then I'll curl up with either an episode of Game of Thrones, or the second novel in the GoT series.
I am hopeful that my job shadow tomorrow will turn out well. It would be so nice to have a work environment that fosters friendship and fun again. I am already excited to get to know Dr. Hodges, Stefanie (RN) and all the rest of the crew at Legacy Pediatrics, after one quick interview. The interview I had the other day only lasted about thirty minutes, but I stayed for an hour, the last half was spent chatting with the girls. Not only would I no longer have to stress and worry about my job/boss all the time, but it seems as though it would be a great place to make a few friends. Something I am sorely lacking in Fayetteville. Even though I pretend to be a hermit, I really am a social person. I'm hopeful I will be able to kindle new (healthy and functional) relationships that will help me endure Mitchell's absence as well as increase my enjoyment of the area.
I stole the Oakleys!
Getting ready for the gym.
Peddling along!
No comments:
Post a Comment