Sunday, January 15, 2012

Day 9: Busy Bee

     Today I was a busy little bee!  For better or worse, I have yet to determine.  I accomplished a few things on my ever-expanding to do list.  I just have this problem where I feel like that although they are completed, they were not completed perfectly.  I've had this feeling all day long, about everything I've done.  I woke up and ate a quick breakfast, showered and through on clothes to go to the store.  My first stop was Walmart.  I picked up some rawhide bones for puppy as I've notived he is chewing on the wall in the garage and not his toys.  This is something I'm going to have to fix on top of everything else!!  I also grabbed a few paint drop cloths, artistry brushes, painters tape (they are cheaper here than they are at Lowes) and index cards for work.  Next stop Lowes.  I pick up a quart of an off white color to fix the hearth's trim, and a deep beige type color for the living room wall underneath the crown moulding.  I'm hoping adding the darker color on the bottom and leaving the lighter color on the top will add warmth and dimension to such a large open, bland space.  Third stop Michaels, where I find decorative wood moulding and a mider box to add to the built in entertainment center.  I didn't actually get to adding these pieces to the entertainment center today, but they will be added eventually.
     I got home, ate a quick lunch, unpacked my gear and through the dog outside.  Last thing I need is puppy hair or paws all over my painting space.  It took me a long time to edge the hearth as it has five different colors that needed to be touched up.  I only touched up the four I had on hand.  I need to pick up a quart of the lighter beige wall color to edge the top of the hearth.  After edging the hearth I figured it would be a good time to prep the living room walls for painting.  I started by edging the trim on two of the walls for the darker beige and then painting them.  At this point in the day, it was obvious that I would not be getting everything I had planned for the day completed, I was feeling so overwhelmed and disappointed I just wanted to cry.  I hate when I get in those moods because then I start on a negative nancy down turn.  The painting wasn't good enough, the house wasn't clean enough, I'm not attractive or my body isn't toned enough, I'm not this I'm not that, blah blah blah.  I had a nice piece of dark chocolate, took a few deep breaths and decided that  I will have to paint the living room in sections.  It is a large space, it has furniture that needs to be moved around, and I have a puppy that refuses to be left outside or in the garage for the extended amount of time that it would take the paint to dry. This makes is impractical to paint all of it at once.  I put away my painting tools, I threw in a load of laundry and dishes then cleaned out the fridge.  I also tried to get the dog's training collar to work, but it is still giving me trouble.  I think it was good compromise.  I still got a few chores done, even though one of them isn't completed.
    I made dinner, worked on some index cards for work and played SWTOR for a bit.  I just got a text from Mitchell not too long ago, letting me know that he is available to text back and forth so now that is what is occupying my time.  I'm sure I will play a bit more SWTOR, watch a movie and then off to bed.  I'm not too excited for work tomorrow, I know it will be a breeze compared to what I'm used to, its just that tomorrow is MLK Day and school is out.  We will see 16 scheduled kids (not counting the last minute sick calls) within the first part of the day and another 16 in the afternoon.  No biggy, right?  Wrong, we are down a provider and I still "don't know what I'm doing," so I'm planning on a hectic not fun day.  Hopefully it will go by super duper fast!  Then I can go practice my running and be one day closer to seeing Mitchell again!

All of my supplies unpacked and ready to go!

Edge of the hearth and the wall :)

More of the hearth

The finished wall.

What do you think about the colors?  You like?  You dislike?

No comments:

Post a Comment